Press release 27 January 2021

Top 50 Start-ups: Innovations made in Germany

▪ Top 50 startups chosen from more than 700 winners in 2020
▪ Start-up economy shows potential: experiments in space, vaccines based on the modular principle, comfortable period underwear or the Tesla of agriculture
▪ Thanks to innovative business ideas, start-ups defy the Corona crisis and look ahead to 2021 with confidence

The Top 50 Start-ups Ranking: Popular brands like FOND OF, mymuesli, true fruits or industry unicorns with a billion-dollar valuation like Celonis have one thing in common: they also look back on numerous awards in start-up competitions. The early stages already reveal the SMEs of tomorrow, which are already making big things happen today. That’s why we have been analyzing the results of well over 100 startup competitions since 2014. From the many hundreds of award winners, the top 50 start-ups of the year are determined on the basis of various factors using scoring. Following the annual publication as a PDF magazine, the top 50 start-ups now have their own portal at www.top50startups.de.

Start-ups active on land, sea and in space
The business models of the Top 50 Start-ups reflect the megatrends of our time such as the environment, health or mobility. Whether solutions for space, agriculture, higher energy efficiency, against infectious diseases or the use of blockchain – the Top 50 Start-ups 2020 are active in many areas of our lives. This is illustrated by the following examples:

▪ Yuri (Rank 2): The start-up enables more cost-effective experiments in weightlessness, for example on board the ISS on behalf of Nasa.
▪ Ooia (Rank 7): Innovative products for women, such as the self-developed period underwear, which stimulate discussions and make their everyday life more carefree.
▪ Airstier (Rank 19): Development and production of an electric motor that can save up to 50% energy.
▪ inveox (Rank 25): Improve the safety and reliability of cancer diagnoses by automating and digitizing sample receipt in the laboratory.
▪ PVT (Rank 32): The core product is an Orf virus-based vector platform for generating next-generation vaccines.
▪ Bracenet (Rank 46): Freeing the world’s oceans from plastic: Salvage ghost nets and handcraft them into new products.

To the complete ranking of the  Top 50 Start-ups 2020

“The Top 50 Start-ups of 2020 show us a wealth of ideas and innovation coupled with initial entrepreneurial successes,” summarizes René Klein, CEO of Passion4Business GmbH. More facts, figures and data on the top 50 start-ups and their regional origins are shown in the infographic in the appendix and a data analysis on the plattform.

2/3 of startups achieve or exceed annual targets despite Corona crisis
According to the results of the survey of the top 50 start-ups, the Corona crisis has not had as strong an impact as it has for many classic companies. Only one third of the start-ups did not achieve their annual targets. Despite the crisis, half of the companies were able to achieve the targets set for 2020 and 16 percent even exceeded them.

Namely, founders from the health & life science and related sectors such as medical technology and biotechnology were able to take advantage of market opportunities: “As a quick response to the global pandemic, we already expanded our supply chain in March 2020 to include the supply of medical supplies that are currently urgently needed everywhere, such as Sars-CoV-2 test kits and protective masks,” says inveox from Garching near Munich. (Ranked 25th in Top Startups 2020 and 1st in 2017).

We have summarized how other start-ups were able to launch new products or optimize processes in the Corona Special of this year’s issue.

The outlook for 2021 is extremely positive: 49 of the top 50 startups are “very optimistic” or “optimistic” about business development; only one was “pessimistic”.

The upbeat mood carries over to hiring plans. Almost two-thirds of the start-ups expect to hire up to 10 employees. Twenty-two percent even plan to increase staff by double digits. Only 14 percent see the number of employees remaining constant in 2021.

About the portal Top50Startups.de

The aim of the new platform www.top50startups.de is to create visibility for innovations and networks in the start-up economy. At the heart of the platform is the eponymous annual ranking of the Top 50 start-ups, based on the results of well over 100 start-up competitions.

The Top50Startups.de platform belongs to Passion4Business GmbH, in which the F.A.Z. publishing group also holds a stake via F.A.Z. Business Media GmbH.

Commerzbank and LEXROCKET are involved as the platform’s main partners.

• Commerzbank supports start-ups with a high-performance business account. Services such as CashRadar help them grow. At the start, the bank is offering a start-up package with discounted terms.
• LEXROCKET is Lexware’s start-up support initiative. Its goal is to provide start-up assistance to founders and young entrepreneurs throughout Germany and to lead them to long-term success.
The KfW Award Gründen is the platform’s main competition partner.
• KfW Bankengruppe has been honoring young companies with the KfW Award Gründen since 1998. The focus is on innovative business ideas, original products or services, job creation and sustainable entrepreneurship.

Press contact
René Klein
Passion4Business GmbH
Rheinstraße 59
12159 Berlin
Phone: +49 30.8510 3146
presse@passion4business.de
www.top50start-ups.de – a brand from www.passion4business.de


https://www.top50startups.de/fileadmin/top-50-startups/PR/Pressemitteilung_Top50Startups_2020-21.pdf

Pressemitteilung vom 27. Januar 2021

Top 50 Start-ups: Innovationen made in Germany

▪ Top 50 Start-ups aus über 700 Preisträgern des Jahres 2020 gekürt
▪ Start-up-Wirtschaft zeigt Potenzial: Experimente im Weltraum, Impfstoffe
nach dem Baukastenprinzip, komfortable Periodenunterwäsche oder der
Tesla der Landwirtschaft
▪ Dank innovativer Geschäftsideen trotzen die Start-ups der Corona-Krise
und blicken zuversichtlich auf 2021

Das Top 50 Start-ups Ranking: Populäre Marken wie FOND OF, mymuesli, true fruits oder mit einer Milliarden-Bewertung versehene Einhörner der Industrie wie Celonis haben eines gemeinsam: sie blicken auch auf zahlreiche Auszeichnungen bei Gründerwettbewerben zurück. In der frühen Phase zeigt sich bereits der Mittelstand von morgen, der schon heute Großes bewegt. Deshalb analysieren wir seit 2014 die Ergebnisse von weit über 100 Gründerwettbewerben. Aus den vielen Hundert Preisträgern werden auf der Basis verschiedener Faktoren mit einem Scoring die Top 50 Start-ups des Jahres ermittelt. Nach der jährlichen Veröffentlichung als PDF-Magazin erhalten die Top 50 Start-ups nun ein eigenes Portal unter www.top50startups.de

Start-ups zu Lande, zu Wasser und im Weltraum aktiv
Die Geschäftsmodelle der Top 50 Start-ups spiegeln die Megatrends unserer Zeit wie Umwelt, Gesundheit oder Mobilität wider. Ob Lösungen für den Weltraum, die Landwirtschaft, eine höhere Energieeffizienz, gegen Infektionskrankheiten oder den Einsatz der Blockchain – die Top 50 Start-ups 2020 sind in vielen Bereichen unseres Lebens aktiv. Dies verdeutlichen die folgenden Beispiele:

▪ Yuri (Rang 2): Das Start-up ermöglicht kostengünstigere Experimente in der Schwerelosigkeit, bspw. an Bord der ISS im Auftrag der Nasa.
▪ Ooia (Rang 7): Innovative Produkte für Frauen, wie die selbst entwickelte Periodenunterwäsche, die Diskussionen anregen und deren Alltag sorgenfreier machen.
▪ Airstier (Rang 19): Entwicklung und Fertigung eines Elektromotors, der bis zu 50 % Energie einsparen kann.
▪ inveox (Rang 25): Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit von Krebsdiagnosen verbessern, indem der Probeneingang im Labor automatisiert und digitalisiert wird.
▪ PVT (Rang 32): Das Kernprodukt ist eine auf Orf-Viren basierende Vektorplattform zur Erzeugung von Impfstoffen der nächsten Generation.
▪ Bracenet (Rang 46): Die Weltmeere von Plastik befreien: Geisternetze bergen und in Handarbeit zu neuen Produkten verarbeiten.

Zum vollständigen Ranking der Top 50 Start-ups 2020

„Die Top 50 Start-ups des Jahres 2020 zeigen uns Ideen- und Innovationsreichtum gepaart mit ersten unternehmerischen Erfolgen“, fasst René Klein, CEO der Passion4Business GmbH, zusammen. Mehr Zahlen, Daten und Fakten zu den Top 50 Start-ups und deren regionale Herkunft zeigt die Infografik im Anhang und eine Datenanalyse auf der Plattform.

2/3 der Start-ups erreichen oder übertreffen Jahresziele trotz Corona-Krise
Nach Ergebnissen der Umfrage unter den Top 50 Start-ups hat sich die Corona-Krise nicht so stark ausgewirkt, wie bei vielen klassischen Unternehmen. Nur ein Drittel der Start-ups hat die Jahresziele nicht erreicht. Die Hälfte der Unternehmen konnte trotz Krise, die für 2020 gesteckten Ziele erreichen und 16 Prozent diese sogar übertreffen.

Namentlich Gründer aus den Bereichen Health & Life Science und verwandten Sparten wie Medizintechnik und Biotechnologie konnten Marktchancen nutzen: „Als schnelle Reaktion auf die globale Pandemie haben wir bereits im März 2020 unsere Lieferkette auf die Versorgung mit den derzeit überall dringend benötigten medizinischen Bedarfsmaterialien, wie zum Beispiel Sars-CoV-2 Test-Sets und Schutzmasken, ausgeweitet“, sagt inveox aus Garching bei München. (Rang 25 der Top Start-ups 2020 und Rang 1 2017).

Wie weitere Start-ups neue Produkte starten oder Prozesse optimieren konnten, haben wir im Corona-Spezial der diesjährigen Ausgabe zusammengefasst.

Der Ausblick für 2021 ist überaus positiv: 49 der 50 Top 50 Start-ups blicken „sehr optimistisch“ oder „optimistisch“ auf die Geschäftsentwicklung; nur eines zeigte sich „pessimistisch“.

Die gute Stimmung überträgt sich auf die Einstellungspläne. Knapp zwei Drittel der Start-ups rechnen damit, bis zu 10 Mitarbeiter einzustellen. 22 Prozent planen sogar mit einem zweistelligen Personalaufbau. Nur 14 Prozent sehen die Zahl der Mitarbeiter im Jahr 2021 konstant.

Über das Portal Top50Startups.de
Sichtbarkeit für Innovationen und Netzwerke der Start-up Wirtschaft zu schaffen, ist Ziel der neuen Plattform www.top50startups.de Den Mittelpunkt bildet das namensgebende jährliche Ranking der Top 50 Start-ups, auf Basis der Ergebnisse von weit über 100 Gründerwettbewerben.

Die Plattform Top50Startups.de gehört zur Passion4Business GmbH, an der auch die F.A.Z. Verlagsgruppe über die F.A.Z. Business Media GmbH beteiligt ist.

Als Hauptpartner der Plattform engagieren sich die Commerzbank und LEXROCKET.

• Start-ups begleitet die Commerzbank mit einem leistungsstarken Geschäftskonto. Services wie der CashRadar helfen beim Wachsen. Zum Start bietet die Bank ein Gründer Angebot mit vergünstigten Konditionen.
• LEXROCKET ist die Gründer- und Start-up Förderinitiative von Lexware. Ihr Ziel ist es, deutschlandweit Gründern und Jungunternehmern Starthilfe zu geben und sie langfristig zum Erfolg zu führen.
Der KfW Award Gründen ist Hauptwettbewerbspartner der Plattform.
• Seit 1998 zeichnet die KfW Bankengruppe junge Unternehmen mit dem KfW Award Gründen aus. Dabei geht es um innovative Geschäftsideen, originelle Produkte oder Dienstleistungen, die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen und nachhaltiges Unternehmertum.

Pressekontakt
René Klein
Passion4Business GmbH
Rheinstraße 59
12159 Berlin
Tel.: 030.8510 3146
presse@passion4business.de
www.top50start-ups.de – eine Marke von www.passion4business.de


https://www.top50startups.de/fileadmin/top-50-startups/PR/Pressemitteilung_Top50Startups_2020-21.pdf